Meet The Montreal Urban Team

Montreal Urban Team Shares Why They Love Urban Music

Image

Get to Know the Urban Channel Triad!

Working Together to Promote Montreal Musicians and Businesses

METIKULUS BEATS : Personality

Music. Passion. 514

Music is my passion! Why? It has been a part of my life for more than 25 years and I’m 29. I am very fortunate to be a part of the music network here in Montreal and to have witnessed the dramatic growth of the urban music scene over the last 5 years. There are a lot of people who create music in this city but, not many are committed to and focused on just promoting the city’s music. Well I am. I try to keep engaged with the local talent and promote the music in everything I do including 5.1.4. Radio, my Mixtape Hosting company, where I do Mixtapes for various artists. I’ve also teamed up with ‘$quad of $uccess’, involved in putting on concerts for local artists to showcase their music.

There have been a few cases where I could’ve been in trouble or on the wrong side of the law, but my connection to the music always helped to keep me straight. My musical aspirations made me dig deeper and more determined to live life as best as I could, not allowing anything to stand in my way. It’s made me a better, stronger person equipped to move past any of my struggles and make them into something I can be proud of, which now includes taking ‘Montree’ urban music to the next level. As the Radio Personality for Our City Radio Montreal’s Urban station, I can fully say that I am focused on continuing the trend of promoting and marketing local artists and businesses.

ARI COLLMAN : Publicist

Urban. Music. Love. Evolution

After being hit on the knuckles during a piano lesson at age four, and never returning, one would think that would be enough to swear off music forever. Thankfully, that didn’t happen. My love for music was rooted in church but evolved over the years, to include the different genres on my mother’s cassettes. She would dance around the house to Whitney, Mariah, Toni and Karyn White and the vivid elation that filled her was so infectious and invigorating. R&B was definitely the preferred choice in my childhood home and was my first interaction with urban music.

However, growing up in Kingston, Jamaica, music was also a staple. The pulsating beats of Dancehall and rhythmic sounds of Reggae were on almost every corner. Wherever music was, there was a diverse crowd of people, each sipping something strong, dancing up a storm and enjoying themselves to the fullest.

So I would say that love of urban music has easily been the biggest constant in my life. It has been my friend and confidante. I started writing songs at a young age and would always put my delicate lyrics to created melodies, ultimately bringing the songs to life. I turned to Sade’s soulful music when I first experienced the intense emotions of love but ran to Hip Hop/Rap when I was frustrated or wanted encouragement to stand strong and keep my head up. Dancehall became my license to party and Pop didn’t judge me when I’d dance around my room with a brush in my right hand. When facing the sadness of a tough break up, R&B was there to guide me through the heartache and support me as I wallowed in self-pity and Jazz kept my company when meditating on life. Latin music brought out a side of me that my hips had never known and Reggae music made beach days even better and time with friends even more memorable. That’s what urban music meant to me.

It’s safe to say that it has been and will continue to be not just my favourite type of music but the soundtrack to my life; briefly summing up why I’m extremely passionate about helping to spread urban music by the talented artists and musicians from Montreal to the world, through Our City Radio Montreal.

CLARA VOYENT : Promoter

Montreal. Hip Hop. Talented

I grew up on a small island yet no one I knew had ever listened to anything beyond light Rock or Country music. In 1986, when I was 11, I heard Run DMC for the first time. This was also my first exposure to urban music specifically Rap/Hip Hop and I instantly fell in love. I bought the ‘Raising Hell’ album as soon as I could save up enough money to do so and even though no one I knew liked Run DMC, I was perfectly ok being alone with my new found love.

Eventually I made my way to Montreal, where my love and passion for Rap/Hip Hop expanded. I soon realized that there were so many talented artists going unheard and unsigned. I started getting to know local artists and musicians on the Montreal scene through social media and became hooked to their music. Montreal has a immense pool of talent that needs to be recognized! The heavy bass line, the poetic flow of words (especially those with positive messages) and the lyrical word play are all reasons why I especially love local Rap/Hip Hop music.

There is no other music that comes close to giving me the feeling I get, when listening to urban music!

We’re done pouring out our souls! 🙂

Leave a comment below saying why you love urban music?!

Written by: Ariane Collman, Metikulus Beats and Clara Voyent

 

Original article: http://montreal.ourcityradio.com/uncategorized/meet-the-montreal-urban-team

Shortlink: http://montreal.ourcityradio.com/?p=1400

Visit http://montreal.ourcityradio.com and http://ourcityradio.com

Leave a Reply

